Vegetarian (but not healthy) marshmallow Peeps recipe

vegetarian marshmallow peepsNothing says happy Easter like biting the heads off of some homemade vegetarian marshmallow chicks and bunnies — except for maybe doing so after sending your homemade Peeps to yoga.

The original homemade peeps recipe on The Kitchn calls for:

Ingredients
7 1/2 teaspoons unflavored gelatin (*see below for vegetarian gelatin substitutes)
1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
1 cup light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
Butter for greasing pans (and your fingers)
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1 tablespoon powdered sugar
Sanding sugars
Food coloring
Smoked sesame seeds (for eyes of Peeps)

Equipment
Stand mixer
Medium–sized pot
Candy thermometer
2 cake pans (or a pie pan or sheet pan would do fine)
Cookie cutters

Instead of using the unflavored gelatin and the granulated sugar, one commenter on The Kitchn’s post left a very helpful tip on how to make this recipe vegetarian. They said, “Use agar agar substituted 1:1 for the gelatin and make sure to switch to vegan sugar (regular granulated sugar is often purified through bone char)”.

More info on using agar agar, and other vegetarian gelatin substitutes, from PETA.

Head on over to The Kitchn to get the full instructions for this recipe, but do you think it’d be one you’d like to tackle?

[Via LifeHacker]binary options 24apartments for sale brickellкилиманджаро стоимостьсекс шоп медицинский фетишраскрутка сайта методыBoss Capital Broker Reviewкредиты в пермицентр инвест потребительский кредиткупить тойоту в кредиткредит в рнкбmidtown miami apartments for salelifecycle managmentgoogle словапродвижение интернет проектовзвездные войнывзломpayment methods

reuseit.com - reusables for every part of your life
About Jeffrey Davis

Yo, I'm Jeffrey, founder of and editor in chief here at Eco-Snobbery Sucks. I live in Nashville, TN and am a writer, personal trainer, web designer, and wookie hugger. I hang out on Twitter some but you can find me more active on Facebook. Enjoy the site!

  • Lunartigersong

    Er….. Gelatin is made from hooves, bones, etc…. This is NOT veggie safe!

  • Fiberveg1

    Gelatin is NOT vegetarian!  It’s made from rendered animal parts – usually pig skin in the U.S.

  • devendra

    uh, you guys didn’t read the entire post.  He’s not recommending the use of gelatine.